Yes! This can be done easily if you have a conversation open. Go to the conversation logo at the top right of the conversation and create a note. The note will remain in the conversation if the user decides to come back later, even if the conversation has already been archived. A note always remains internal, so the customer cannot read it, and the note can be deleted if it is no longer relevant.